

# COUNCIL (ANNUAL) MINUTES

# 21 MAY 2013

Pre	sent: * *	Councillor Nizam Ismail (The Worshipful the Mayor) Councillor Nana Asante (The Deputy Mayor)		
ť	uncillors: * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *	Jean Lammiman Barry Macleod-Cullinane Kairul Kareema Marikar Ajay Maru Jerry Miles	* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *	Mrs Vina Mithani Amir Moshenson Chris Mote Janet Mote John Nickolay Joyce Nickolay Christopher Noyce Phillip O'Dell Asad Omar Paul Osborn Varsha Parmar David Perry Bill Phillips Raj Ray Richard Romain Anthony Seymour Lynda Seymour Lynda Seymour Navin Shah Mrs Rekha Shah Sachin Shah Stanley Sheinwald Victoria Silver Bill Stephenson William Stoodley Krishna Suresh Sasi Suresh Yogesh Teli Ben Wealthy Simon Williams
×	Denotes Memb	er present		

†

Denotes apologies received

### PRAYERS

The meeting opened with Prayers offered by Imam Anas Mohammed.

### 290. ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor called formally for nominations for the Office of the Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the ensuing Municipal Year.

Councillor Asad Omar nominated and Councillor Susan Hall seconded that **COUNCILLOR NANA ASANTE** be elected Mayor for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

Councillors Husain Akhtar, Marilyn Ashton, James Bond, Lurline Champagnie, Zarina Khalid, Thaya Idaikkadar, Krishna James, Vina Mithani, John Nickolay, Chris Noyce and William Stoodley also spoke in support of the nomination.

There being no other nominations, the Mayor put the nomination of Councillor Nana Asante to the meeting.

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Nana Asante be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

#### 291. INSTALLATION OF NEWLY APPOINTED MAYOR

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Nizam Ismail, vacated the Chair and, after a short interval for robing, the newly elected Mayor, having made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair.

The Mayor, Councillor Nana Asante, announced that her Mayoress would be Ms Awula Serwah.

The Mayoress, Ms Awula Serwah, was then invested with her Medallion of Office.

The Mayor, Councillor Nana Asante, returned thanks for her election.

# 292. VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

Councillor Barry Macleod-Cullinane formally moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor, Councillor Nizam Ismail, which was seconded by Councillor William Stoodley.

Councillors Husain Akhtar, Mano Dharmarajah, Susan Hall, Thaya Idaikkadar, Krishna James, Manji Kara, Zarina Khalid Jean Lammiman and John Nickolay endorsed the vote of thanks.

**RESOLVED:** That the Council place on record its appreciation and sincere thanks to Councillor Nizam Ismail for his year of office as Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for 2012/13.

#### 293. EXPRESSION OF THANKS BY IMMEDIATE PAST MAYOR

Councillor Nizam Ismail congratulated the incoming Mayor, Councillor Nana Asante, on her appointment and thanked Members of Council for their kind words.

In recalling his Mayoral Year, Councillor Ismail advised that he had undertaken 642 engagements. In addition to this he had presented nearly 2500 citizenship certificates to residents in Harrow.

Councillor Ismail reflected that he had been honoured to have held the position of Mayor particularly during the 2012 Olympic Games held in London and celebration of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee. Councillor Ismail commented that he would fondly remember carrying the Olympic Torch at Headstone Manor.

Councillor Ismail also commented that other highlights of his Mayoral Year included the Lord Mayor of London's New Year Parade where Harrow's profile had been raised as a result of a participating float. Another highlight was the Civic Service held at St Mary's Church where Imam Anas Mohammed had read out passages of the Quran in front of an audience comprising of representatives from different faiths.

Councillor Ismail reported that he had raised nearly £20,000 for his nominated Charity Age UK.

Councillor Ismail thanked his wife and members of staff in the Mayoral Office for their support and hard work during his year in office.

# 294. PRESENTATION OF MEDALLION TO THE IMMEDIATE PAST MAYOR

The Mayor, Councillor Nana Asante, on behalf of the Council presented a replica of the Mayor's Medallion to Councillor Nizam Ismail in commemoration of his Mayoralty of the Borough 2012/13.

Councillor Nizam Ismail then left the Dais and was escorted by the Macebearer to his seat in the Council Chamber.

The Mayoress, Ms Awula Serwah, presented to the immediate past Mayoress, Mrs Zahafaran Ismail, a Medallion to commemorate her year as Mayoress of the Borough 2012/13.

# 295. ELECTION AND INVESTITURE OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor called formally for nominations for Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the ensuing Municipal Year.

Councillor Susan Hall nominated and Councillor William Stoodley seconded that **COUNCILLOR CAMILLA BATH** be elected Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

There being no other nominations, the Mayor put the nomination of Councillor Camilla Bath to the meeting.

The Deputy Mayor, having been duly invested with the Deputy Mayor's robe and Badge of Office, occupied the Deputy Mayor's Chair.

The Mayor then invested the Deputy Mayor's Consort, **Mr Alfred Bath**, with his Medallion.

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Camilla Bath, then returned thanks.

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Camilla Bath be elected Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

# 296. APPOINTMENT OF CHAPLAIN

The Mayor confirmed to Council that she had appointed Reverend Dr Suzanne Nti as her religious representative for her Mayoral Year.

# 297. CIVIC FUNCTIONS

Council received tabled notification of forthcoming events for the Year. The Mayor also nominated Flash Musicals as her special appeal for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

# **RESOLVED:** That the dates of the following Civic Functions be noted:

Civic Service at St Mary's Church	Sun 23 June 2013 <i>(10.30 am)</i>		
Armed Forces/Veterans Flag Rais Ceremony	Mon 24 June 2013 <i>(10.15 am)</i>		
Battle of Britain Thanksgiving Servic	Sun 8 September 2013 (11.00 am)		
Remembrance Day Parade Service	and	Sun 10 November 2013 <i>(10.15 am)</i>	
Mayoress's Committee Ball	Sat 16 November 2013 (7.00 pm)		

### 298. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

- Councillor James Bond moved and Councillor Chris Noyce seconded a Procedural Motion that item 5 – Leader of the Council, be deferred until the Extraordinary Meeting of the Council on 23 May 2013;
- (ii) Upon a vote, this Procedural Motion was agreed;
- (iii) In relation to a request for a roll call vote on the Procedural Motion, the Mayor ruled that the request had been made too late to take effect.

**RESOLVED:** That item 5 – Leader of the Council, be deferred until the Extraordinary Meeting of the Council on 23 May 2013.

#### 299. EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL

**RESOLVED:** To note that an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council would be held on Thursday 23 May 2013.

#### **300. DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS**

**RESOLVED:** That the following dates for meetings of the Council in the Municipal Year 2013/14 be confirmed:

Thursday 4 July 2013

Thursday 14 November 2013

Thursday 27 February 2014 (Council Tax Meeting)

(**CLOSE OF MEETING:** All business having been completed, the Mayor declared the meeting closed at 7.58 pm).